Faculty

Sergei Chobanyan
Sergei Chobanyan

Visiting Professor
C433 Wells Hall  |  517-353-6339  |  chobanya@stt.msu.edu

Albert Cohen
Albert Cohen

Actuarial Program Coordinator
C336 Wells Hall  |  517-355-4592  |  acohen@stt.msu.edu
Reseach Interests: Actuarial Science

Yuehua Cui
Yuehua Cui

Professor
C432 Wells Hall  |  517-432-7098  |  cui@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Statistical genetics, Bioinformatics, Longitudinal data analysis

Gustavo de los Campos
Gustavo de los Campos

Associate Professor
C442 Wells Hall / B601 Fee Hall  |  517-432-9892 / 517-353-8623  |  gdeloscampos@epi.msu.edu
Research Interests: Statistical Genetics, Quantitative Genetics, Bayesian Methods, Statistical Software, High dimensional regressions

Elijah Dikong
Elijah Dikong

Assistant Professor
C444 Wells Hall  |  517-353-7201  | dikong@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Queueing and Stochastic Processes Graph and Random Graph Theory

Roy Erickson
Roy Erickson

Professor Emeritus
C413 Wells Hall  |  517-355-9589  |  ericks13@msu.edu

Camille Fairbourn
Camille Fairbourn

Senior Specialist - Teaching
C425 Wells Hall  |  517-355-3391  |  fairbour@stt.msu.edu

Dennis Gilliland
Dennis Gilliland

Professor Emeritus
C413 Wells Hall  |  517-355-9589  |  gilliland@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Compound and Empirical Bayes, Repeated Games, Quantitative Literacy, Applications

Hyokyoung (Grace) Hong
Hyokyoung (Grace) Hong

Assistant Professor
C435 Wells Hall  |  517-432-1485  |  hhong@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Quantile regression, Ordinal response, Aging research

Marianne Huebner
Marianne Huebner

Associate Professor
C422 Wells Hall  |  517-432-3385  |  huebner@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Biostatistics, initial data analysis, modeling of health records, data mining of electronic health records, statistical genomics

Dennis Ikpe
Dennis Ikpe

Visiting Professor
C408 Wells Hall  |  517- 355-0318 |  ikpedenn@stt.msu.edu

Leonard Johnson
Leonard Johnson

Teaching Specialist
C410 Wells Hall  |  517-355-3287  |  john2772@stt.msu.edu

Kamran Kalbasi
Kamran Kalbasi

Visiting Assistant Professor
C423 Wells Hall  |  517-353-2963  |  kalbasik@msu.edu

John Keane
John Keane

Teaching Specialist
C427 Wells Hall  |  517-353-7820  |  keanejoh@stt.msu.edu

James F. Kelly
James F. Kelly

Visiting Research Associate
C434 Wells Hall  |  517-353-7173  |  kellyja8@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Fractional Calculus, Acoustics, Galerkin Methods

Hira Koul
Hira Koul

Professor Emeritus
C412 Wells Hall  |  517-353-7170  |  koul@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Non- and Semiparametric Statistics, Survival Analysis, Time Series Analysis

Gee Lee
Gee Lee

Assistant Professor
C337 Wells Hall  |  517-353-6332  |  leegee@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Actuarial Science, Risk and Insurance

Raoul LePage
Raoul LePage

Professor
C428 Wells Hall  |  517-353-3984  |  lepage@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Universal Statistical Methodologies, Automatic Learning/Investing/Gaming, Resampling Theory, Data Extremes, Linear Inverse Problems, Mathematical Finance, Bayesian Method, General Statistical Consulting

Shlomo Levental
Shlomo Levental

Professor / Graduate Coordinator
C420 Wells Hall  |  517-355-8726  |  levental@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Stochastic Models in Finanace

Haiyan Liu
Haiyan Liu

Assistant Professor
C344 Wells Hall  |  517-353-0844  |  hliu@math.msu.edu

Taps Maiti
Taps Maiti

MSU Foundation Professor / Graduate Director
C424 Wells Hall  |  517-355-9677  |  maiti@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: High-dimensional Data Analysis, Biostatistical Methods, Mixed Models, Bayesian Methods, Spatial Data Analysis

V. Mandrekar
V. Mandrekar

Professor
C436 Wells Hall  |  517-353-7172  |  atmah@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Stochastic PDEs, Stationary & Markov Fields, Stochastic Stability, Signal Analysis

Mark Meerschaert
Mark Meerschaert

University Distinguished Professor
C430 Wells Hall  |  517-353-8881  |  mcubed@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Stochastic Processes, Time Series, Heavy Tails

Vince Melfi
Vince Melfi

Associate Professor / Associate Chair / Undergraduate Director
C421 Wells Hall  |  517-432-3384  |  melfi@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Markov Chains, Renewal Theory, Sequential Allocations

Léo Neufcourt
Léo Neufcourt

Postdoctoral Researcher
C442 Wells Hall  |  517-432-3892  |  neufcour@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Bayesian Inference, Uncertainty Quantification, Stochastic Processes, Mathematical Finance

Connie Page
Connie Page

Professor Emeritus
C413 Wells Hall  |  517-355-9589  |  page@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Sequential Allocation, Statistical Consulting, Adaptive Designs for Clinical Trials

Pramod Pathak
Pramod Pathak

Professor
C402 Wells Hall  |  517-353-8900  |  pathakp@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Sampling Theory, and Mathematical Statistics, Computational Statistics

R.V. Ramamoorthi
R.V. Ramamoorthi

Professor
C431 Wells Hall  |  517-353-3237  |  ramamoor@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Foundations, Bayesian Inference, Graphics models

Lyudmila Sakhanenko
Lyudmila Sakhanenko

Associate Professor
C441 Wells Hall  |  517-432-9795  |  luda@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Empirical Processes, High Dimensional Probability

Habib Salehi
Habib Salehi

Professor Emeritus
C413 Wells Hall  |  517-355-9589  |  salehi@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Prediction Theory, Time Series Analysis, Stochastic Analysis

Harish Sankaranarayanan
Harish Sankaranarayanan

Visiting Teaching Specialist
C408 Wells Hall  |  517-355-0318  |  harish@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Fractional Calculus, Partial Differential Equations, Functional Analysis, Stochastic Processes

Alla Sikorskii
Alla Sikorskii

Professor
C404 Wells Hall  |  517-355-9983  |  alla.sikorskii@hc.msu.edu
Research Interests: Diffusion Processes, Stochastic Models in Finance, Statistics in Health Sciences

Ashoke Sinha
Ashoke Sinha

Assistant Professor
C443 Wells Hall  |  517-432-2354  |  aksinha@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Extreme Value Theory and its applications in actuarial science, financial and engineering related risk estimation

Veronika Skorokhod
Veronika Skorokhod

Teaching Specialist
C403 Wells Hall  |  517-353-7815  |  vskorokhod@stt.msu.edu

James Stapleton
James Stapleton

Professor Emeritus
C429 Wells Hall  |  517-355-9678  |  stapleton@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Linear and Log-linear Models

Frederi Viens
Frederi Viens

Department Chair / Professor / Interim Director of Actuarial Science
C415 Wells Hall  |  517-432-7097  |  viens@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Probability theory, Stochastic analysis, Mathematical statistics, Applied Bayesian analysis, Finance, Insurance mathematics, Time series, Climate science, Agricultural economics, Hydrology, Nuclear physics, Human medicine

Heng Wang
Heng Wang

Assistant Professor
E-194A Holmes Hall  |  517-884-1520  |  hengwang@msu.edu
Research Interests: Next generation sequencing data analysis, microarray data analysis, bayesian hierarchical models, hidden Markov models, empirical statistics, multiple testing, high dimensional data, statistical consulting

Jun Wang
Jun Wang

Visiting Research Scholar
C401 Wells Hall  |  517-884-1923  |  wangju23@stt.msu.edu

Xiangquan Wu
Xiangquan Wu

Visiting Research Scholar
C433 Wells Hall  |  517-353-6339  |  wuxiangq@stt.msu.edu

Yimin Xiao
Yimin Xiao

Professor
C437 Wells Hall  |  517-432-5411  |  xiaoyimi@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Stochastics Processes and Random Fields, Fractals

Yuying Xie
Yuying Xie

Assistant Professor
1513 Engineering Building  |  517-432-0391  |  xyy@msu.edu
Research Interests: Statistical Machine Learning, Bioinformatics, High Dimensional Data Anaylsis, Graphical Models, Causal Inference, Measurement Error, QTL/eQTL Mapping

Junli Yang
Junli Yang

Visiting Research Scholar
C433 Wells Hall  |  517-353-6369  |  yangju23@stt.msu.edu

Xiaochuan Yang
Xiaochuan Yang

Visiting Assistant Professor
C419 Wells Hall  |  517-355-8426  |  yangxi43@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Stochastic Processes, Multifractal analysis, Wavelets

Aklilu Zeleke
Aklilu Zeleke

Professor
W-25A Holmes Hall  |  517-353-4504  |  zeleke@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Probability, Stochastic process

Ping-Shou Zhong
Ping-Shou Zhong

Assistant Professor
C418 Wells Hall  |  517-355-0319  |  pszhong@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Statistical inference for high dimensional data, empirical likelihood method, nonparametric smoothing methods and statistical genetics.

Yijun Zuo
Yijun Zuo

Professor
C440 Wells Hall  |  517-432-5413  |  zuo@stt.msu.edu
Research Interests: Data Depth and Applications, Multivariate Data Analysis, Robust Statistics, Nonparametric Methods